On Saturday 20th July, blessed with some beautiful weather, some 40 people arrived at St Mary’s to learn about various parts of the building and the graveyard. Richard Newley spoke for half an hour on the burials and the specialist work which had gone into mapping all the graves and deciphering some of the nearly lost headstone inscriptions. Fascinating stuff.
Eric Garrett, our local historian, then took over with tales of bubonic plague and famous people buried in the graveyard along with a fascinating series of stories surrounding both the graveyard and the church. Not least of these was the poignant recalling of the 2 young sisters swept away in the River Severn 100 years ago.
David Bone then recounted the near 1,000 years history of the church building, its various extensions and its near destruction in 1605.
A massive array of cakes and scones were then offered to the visitors. Many thanks to all who participated. Over £200 was raised for the Sow and Grow Appeal.